Local Elections Thursday 5th May

Elections are being held on Thursday 5 May 2016 for local borough councillors, parish councillors and the Cheshire Police and Crime Commissioner (PCC).

The deadline to register to vote in these elections was 18 April 2016 so if you weren’t registered before this date, you won’t be able to vote.

The polling station for Appleton Thorn is at the Appleton Thorn Village Hall as usual. It will be open between 7am-10pm.  You don’t need to take your polling card with you to the polling station.  The Village Hall Bar will be open as usual in the evening but will be accessible from the rear entrance only, until the polling station closes.

With the move of Appleton Thorn from Appleton Ward into Grappenhall, the village has lost its previous Borough Councillors, who have ‘remained’ with the redefined Appleton Ward.

The ‘runners and riders’ for Warrington Borough Councillors this time, for the village as part of Grappenhall Ward are:

  • BATE, Ryan Stephen Robert – Liberal Democrats
  • BIGGIN, Mike – Liberal Democrats
  • GILLIS, Iona – The Conservative Party Candidate
  • HEAVER, Andy – Labour Party
  • REILLY Olivia – The Conservative Party Candidate

Parish Councillor candidates – for Appleton Parish Council (we’re still in this one!) – Thorn Ward are:

  • CHAPMAN, Richard George – Labour Party – 6 Red Gables, Pepper Street, Appleton Thorn, Warrington, WA4 4SB
  • CROSS, Andy – Independent – 25 Hatchery Close, Appleton Thorn, Warrington, WA4 4TF
  • EDWARDS, Dorothy – Independent – 49 Parkland Close, Appleton Thorn, Warrington, WA4 4RH

Candidates for the Cheshire Police and Crime Commissioner (PCC) are:

  • John DWYER – The Conservative Party Candidate
  • David KEANE – Labour Party
  • Neil Christopher LEWIS – Liberal Democrats
  • Jonathan Charles STARKEY – UK Independence Party

Full details are available on the Warrington Council Website

Please use your vote – however you apply it!

Leave a comment